Engineering a better plant

It’s the summer between completing my engineering degree and starting a masters in Entertainment Technology, so naturally I’m going to spend it making puppets! I have the opportunity to build a set of Audrey IIs for Playful Theatre Productions production of Little Shop of Horrors at the Kelsey Theatre, opening in October (shameless plug). Of course I’m totally psyched, and have already used the excuse to get all the puppety tools and supplies I’ve been wanting forever and set up m garage as a makeshift studio.

If you haven’t been following along, I’ve been interning with puppet companies in NYC (Tandem Otter and The Puppet Kitchen) for the past 3 years and have had a chance to help out on some really incredible builds including The Addams Family, A Winters Tale and ImaginOcean, but this will be my first solo foray into the world of puppets.

I’ve been trying to create a new interpretation of Audrey II, something other than the traditional green pod that can actually be described as a “strange and unusual plant”.

OM NOM

One of many potential Audrey IIs.

Inspired by exotic plants, corals and bizarre imagery, I want my Audrey II to really stand out.
Stay tuned and see how it turns out!

About dontfeedtheplants

Follow Audrey II from page to stage!

2 responses to “Engineering a better plant

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

